Archaeology rocks- Council for British Archaeology

Archaeology Matters

Marsh Archaeology Awards 2015

The 2015 Marsh Archaeology Awards are annual awards, supported by the Marsh Christian Trust, which celebrate excellence in community archaeology and recognise the passion and dedication of the many people working so hard to protect and understand British Archaeology.

There are three categories of award open for nominations;

• The Marsh Award for Community Archaeology recognises and promotes the results of research and/or fieldwork led by community groups which have made a substantial contribution to knowledge and wellbeing.
• The Young Archaeologist of the Year Award is for a young person or group of young people under the age of 18 who have made an outstanding contribution to community archaeology.
• The Community Archaeologist of the Year Award is for an individual who has inspired others to share their love of archaeology.

Nominations will open in the Summer and the awards ceremony will form part of the CBA’s AGM and De Cardi lecture in November.

Nomination Criteria (84.4K, .PDF)
This document tells you everything you need to know to make a nomination for the Marsh Archaeology Awards 2015.

Carwynnen winners

Previous Winners

You can see details of the 2015 award winners on here.

The 2014 Award for Community Archaeology has been given to the Restoration of Carwynnen Quoit project in Cornwall. This project, led by The Sustainable Trust, related to the community space being developed at Frying Pan Field: the site of Carwynnen Quoit, a neolithic monument which collapsed following a reported earthquake in the 1960s. Careful research and a series of community events led to the restoration of the monument, captured in the re-enactment of an historic photograph taken in the 1920s when the monument still stood. The nomination was made by community archaeologist Richard Mikulski, who said, “the project brought together a wide variety of individuals of all ages and backgrounds, ranging from innovative young photography students to Julian Richards and his experimental archaeology team to schoolchildren from all over mid-Cornwall. The final capping of the quoit on midsummer’s day was a truly once in a lifetime event which brought hundreds of people to the site to share in this special experience."

Carwynnen Quoit restoration

The first Young Archaeologist of the Year was Lynda Walker. Lynda, aged 16, is the longest-serving member of Canterbury Young Archaeologists’ Club. She was nominated by her Branch Leader, Abby Found. Abby said, “Lynda’s first meeting was on a very wet and windy day, field-walking for Bronze Age finds in Thanet. From the start she has been avidly interested in archaeology and is an extremely enthusiastic member of the Branch.” Lynda hopes to become an Archaeological Conservator and is working hard to get the skills and knowledge she needs, for example by arranging her year 10 school work experience with Pre-Construct Archaeology.

Lynda Walker hard at work

The first Community Archaeologist of the Year Award has been presented to Viv Samuelson. Viv has been involved with excavations at the eastern end of Hadrian’s Wall since the 1990s and was nominated by Nick Hodgson of Tyne and Wear Archives and Museums. Nick said, “I want to nominate Viv as an outstanding community archaeologist because her persistence and inspiration to others had led directly to one of the most important discoveries on Hadrian’s Wall in recent years.” Over the past three years Viv has been one of the leaders of a community-led initiative to find out more about Wallsend in Roman times. Through her leadership, the team were able to identify and excavate the long-lost bath house which once stood outside the Roman fort of Segedunum.

Viv Samuelson
Share this
Back to top

Participate in archaeology now!

Join the CBA