Archaeology rocks- Council for British Archaeology

Archaeology Matters

Marsh Archaeology Awards 2017

The Marsh Archaeology Awards are annual awards, supported by the Marsh Christian Trust, which celebrate excellence in community archaeology and recognise the passion and dedication of the many people working so hard to protect and understand British Archaeology.

There are three categories of award open for nominations;

  • The Marsh Award for Community Archaeology recognises and promotes the results of research and/or fieldwork led by community groups which have made a substantial contribution to knowledge and wellbeing.
  • The Young Archaeologist of the Year Award is for a young person or group of young people under the age of 18 who have made an outstanding contribution to community archaeology.
  • The Community Archaeologist of the Year Award is for an individual who has inspired others to share their love of archaeology.

Nominations are open until 3 September and the awards ceremony will form part of the CBA’s AGM and De Cardi lecture.

Awards Nomination Criteria (78.7K, .PDF)
This document tells you all you need to know to make a nomination for the 2017 Marsh Archaeology Awards.

Last year's winners

  • Marsh Archaeology Award for Young Archaeologist of the Year 2016: Nathaniel Tegg
  • Community Archaeologist of the Year 2016: Liz Caldwell
  • Marsh Archaeology Award for Community Archaeology 2016: The Roman Aylsham Project

Full details of the 2016 winners and their work can be found here.

The Roman Aylsham Project pick up their award
Share this
Back to top

Participate in archaeology now!

Join the CBA