Archaeology rocks- Council for British Archaeology

Archaeology Matters

Marsh Archaeology Awards 2018

The Marsh Archaeology Awards are annual awards, supported by the Marsh Christian Trust which showcase excellence in archaeology.  We are happy to announce that nominations for 2018 are now open. This is your chance to recognise the passion and dedication of those you work with or who have inspired you in your archaeological journey.

Nomination is simple, just download and follow the instructions on the nomination criteria document further down this page, then email your nomination to

Nominations are open until 24 September and winners will be announced at the CBA Archaeology Day and AGM, in November.

To ensure that we recognise all facets of the archaeology community, Three categories are awarded each year.

  • The Marsh Award for Community Archaeology recognises and promotes the results of research and/or fieldwork led by community groups which have made a substantial contribution to knowledge and wellbeing.
  • The Young Archaeologist of the Year Award is for a young person or group of young people under the age of 18 who have made an outstanding contribution to community archaeology.
  • The Community Archaeologist of the Year Award is for an individual who has inspired others to share their love of archaeology.

Full nomination criteria are included in the below document.

Award nomination criteria (127.0K, .PDF)
This document tells you everything you need to make a nomination for any of the Marsh Archaeology Awards 2018.

Last year's winners

To help to inspire you, you can find details of last years winners here.

Last year's Marsh Archaeology Award winners line up with CBA President Dan Snow.
Share this
Back to top

Participate in archaeology now!

Join the CBA