Archaeology dig it - Council for British Archaeology

Archaeology Matters

Nominate by 5 January 2021 for a special Marsh Awards for Archaeology

Winners 2019

Every year, the Marsh Awards showcase excellence in archaeology. The Awards are run by the CBA, with the support of the Marsh Christian Trust, and are presented during the CBA AGM.

Since all archaeological activity this year has been affected in some way by the pandemic, we have decided to take a special, one-off approach to the Awards for 2020 and recognise projects which have responded to these challenging circumstances.

This year, the Marsh Awards for Community Archaeology will recognise projects which have helped people to keep participating safely in archaeology, during the Covid-19 pandemic. We invite nominations for any community archaeology project which has responded to the pandemic in a creative or imaginative way and enabled people to enjoy archaeology.

Nominated projects can either be new initiatives, planned from scratch after March 2020, or existing projects which have had to be rethought and delivered differently as a result of the pandemic. They must be projects which have had the aim of enabling a wide range of people to engage with archaeology in the UK but we are open to nominations for in-person activity, digital projects or anything else which has helped people to keep participating safely.

We will judge projects based on the following criteria:

  1. Contribution to individuals’ well-being during the pandemic
  2. Contribution to sustaining volunteer and public participation in archaeology during the pandemic
  3. Contribution to broadening understanding of the historic environment

There will be two categories of awards:

  1. Best volunteer-led project: for projects not involving anyone acting in a paid capacity
  2. Best project with paid support: for projects which have input from anyone acting in a paid capacity

The best project in each category will receive a prize of £1000 to be used by the winning group or organisation involved to support future activity, with a further £250 for a highly commended project. We recognise what a challenging year this has been, so we encourage you to nominate projects big or small, provided they can show a strong contribution under one or more of the criteria.

 Entry procedure

To enter, please complete send us the following information:

  • Name of the nominated project, and contact details for the project team
  • Which category the project falls into
  • The address, email address and telephone number of the person making the nomination
  • An explanation of why the nominated project deserves the award, referring to the criteria above. This should be no more than 500 words, and can include photographs, website links, videos and other content
  • If the nominee is entering their own project, they should include a testimonial from someone else who knows about their project, for example an archaeologist or fellow volunteer

Please send your entry to

Nominations are open until 5pm on Tuesday 5 January 2021 and winners will be announced at the CBA online AGM on 4 February 2021. If you would like to discuss your nomination or want some advice on how to apply, please contact Helen Wilkinson,

Share this
Back to top

Discover archaeology now!

Join the CBA